And The O Music Awards Nominees Are…

Posted May 16

Get ready, mouth-frothing friends — it’s time to vote! The O Music Awards kick off TODAY, May 16, with a whole passel of new categories and nominees on Did your favorite band/app/whatever get a nod? Find out below!

The O Music Awards are slated to go down on June 19th at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT — complete with a 24-hour livestreamed party to celebrate and honor the artists, innovators and fans that are impacting music, technology and counter culture today. Until then, however, we’re fixing for a voting fervor.

The full list of nominees and categories is below, but here’s a teaser before you scroll: Leading the pack with two nominations each are Frank Ocean (Must Follow Artist on Twitter and Too Much Ass for TV) and Beck (Best Interactive Music Video and Analog Genius). Additional artist nominees include Justin Bieber (Fan Army FTW), Pussy Riot (Digital Genius), Macklemore & Ryan Lewis (Best Web-Born Artist), Miranda Lambert (Best Interactive Music Video), Ed Sheeran (Fan Army FTW), ?uestlove (Must Follow Artist on Twitter), Tyler, the Creator (Best Artist Instagram), Demi Lovato (Fan Army FTW) and David Bowie (Too Much Ass for TV).

You can log in to via your Facebook or Twitter account and start voting for your favorite nominees now. A Super Fan profile page and unique link will be auto-generated when you cast your first vote. You’ll be limited to 50 votes per day across all categories, but you can increase this up to 1,000 votes per day by sharing your Super Fan Page link with friends and having them vote through your profile page on one of your top picks. Each of these votes counts towards the nominee pick as a double vote and gets the Super Fan page used double points towards increasing the Super Fan’s voting allotment.

Open nominations also kicked off today at 7 a.m. ET and will go through Tuesday, May 21st.

Additionally, we’d like to highlight our brand-new Make A Band Famous category, nominees for which were chosen via the Artist Platform and committee. Since May 1st, artists have been able to opt in via Viacom Music Group’s artist platform (Artists.MTV, Artists.VH1, Artists.CMT). Based on fan reaction and committee, 10 bands have been selected to advance to the semi-finals. Beginning today, you can check out and vote for your favorite. On Friday, May 31st, the five bands that receive the most votes will be announced, and will move on and play O Music Awards. During the live show, the band who scores the most votes will get a once-in-a-lifetime shot to play VMA weekend in August, as well as the distinction of becoming MTV’s Artist to Watch, VH1’s You Oughta Know, or CMT’s Listen Up highlighted band.

The awards will play out during the course of a 24-hour “Live Music Day,” which will feature live performances from around the country. More than 50 bands will be showcased during the 24-hour period. Following the live performances, select clips will be available to view via each performer’s Artists.MTV page.

O Music Awards will also feature The Roots band leader and amazing drummer ?uestlove kicking off a 24-hour-drum-a-thon that will serve as the heartbeat for “Live Music Day.” In the coming weeks, performing artists and venues, along with drummers will be announced.

Now, without further ado — the nominees!

Digital Genius Award

Yoko Ono
Trent Reznor
Pussy Riot

Best Web-Born Artist

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
Angel Haze

Best Music App


Best Interactive Music Video

Linkin Park, “Lost in the Echo”
Beck & Chris Milk, “Sound and Vision”
Tanlines, “Not The Same”
Miranda Lambert, “Fastest Girl in Town”
Yung Jake, “”

Fan Army FTW

Tokio Hotel’s “Aliens”
Adam Lambert’s “Glamberts”
Ed Sheeran’s “Sheerios”
Justin Bieber’s “Beliebers”
Beyonce’s “Beyhive”
Demi Lovato’s “Lovatics”
Thirty Seconds to Mars’ “Echelon”
Selena Gomez’s “Selenators”
All Time Low’s “Hustlers”
Lil B’s “Task Force”

Best Music Hack

Leap Orchestra
Tweet Concrete
Boil the Frog

Must Follow Artist on Twitter

Bruno Mars
Frank Ocean
Andrew W.K.
Erykah Badu
Carrie Brownstein
Ryan Adams
Richard Marx

Best Artist Instagram

Tyler the Creator
Bon Iver
Mariah Carey
Riff Raff

Our Favorite Musical Cat

Lil Bub
Keyboard Cat
Skifcha The Hipster Dubstep Cat
Collective Soul Cat

Too Much Ass for TV

David Bowie, “The Stars (Are Out Tonight)”
Sigur Ros, “Valtari”
DIIV, “Wait”
Frank Ocean, “Pyramids”
Robin Thicke, “Blurred Lines”

Make a Band Famous

The So So Glos
Chill Moody
Syd Arthur
Striking Matches
Tatiana Owens
John & Jacob
Shy Glizzy
The Future
Darling Parade

Next Big Scene


Analog Genius Award

Jack White
Neil Young

Most Inspiring Fan Outreach

Dan Deacon
Avicii x You
Eric Whitacre’s Virtual Choir
Alicia Keys

The “Friday, Friday” Award

Harlem Shake
Flash Mobs
Goats yelling like humans in music videos
Lip Dubs

O Music Awards Super Fan

The O Music Awards Super Fan Award will be the user that drives the most votes during the voting period. Votes either come from the fan’s own activity, or activity that he/she drives via his/her voting page. This fan will be announced during the show, spotlighted on the O Music Awards blog, and will receive a personalized cube award.